Daria

  
My name is Daria Smith and my user name is Sign2Daria. I've been a teacher of the Deaf for about 15 years.

I live in Indio, California, about 20 miles east of Palm Springs. I've lived in California most of my life but had a brief stint in Honolulu, Hawaii and a briefer stint in Oldsmar, Florida. I've been here 2 years.

After high school I went to the University of Southern California (USC) and majored in Linguistics. I played four years in the Trojan Marching Band which gave me the opportunity to play for President Reagan twice - once at his Innauguration in Washington D.C. and then at the rededication of the Statue of Liberty in New York - march in two Rose Parades (and their Rose Bowl games), the Aloha Bowl and Parade (in Honolulu) and the Citrus Bowl and Parade (in Orlando.) Along the way I've sung in the Olympic Choir, an Irish band called Clumsy Lover and I was a back up singer in the Crissy Lomax band.

After graduation I became an accountant at Westwood One Radio in Culver City, CA. Six months later they transferred me to KM Records, Inc., their subsidiary company that made vinyl records. I learned all about how records are made. Then came CD's and I lost my job, but I went back to school...
Six years of night school and I graduated with a Master's degree in Special Education.

Somewhere in the middle of all that (1987) I met Vincent and Catherine and my life has never the same. I never knew about fandom and the wonderful friendships that have been growing over the past 20 years until in May 2007 I learned of the Los Angeles Convention and I feel as though I've come home. My life is much richer for the friendships I've made in these past 12 months!

I live with my mother and 3 little dogs. I have one older brother who is married and lives in northern California. Since last year's convention my life seems so much more peaceful that I'm able to write poetry again. And though there never seems to be much spare time, when I'm not chatting with on-line friends or teaching, I make jewelry, read, craft and garden.